# 23.—Legislatures and Premiers of British Columbia 1933-55 and Ministry as at May 31, 1955 Legislatures 1933-551

#### Number Date of Date of Date of Legislature of Sessions First Opening Dissolution Election 15, 1937 22, 1941 2, 1933<sup>2</sup> 1, 1937 18th General Assembly. 19th General Assembly. Feb. 20, 1934 Apr. Nov. 5 4 July Oct. 26, June 1937 20th General Assembly. 4, 1941 31, 1945 Oct. 21, 1941 Dec. Aug. 21, Feb. 1946 Oct. 25, 1945 21st General Assembly... 5 Apr. 16, 1949 Apr. 10, 1952 Mar. 27, 1953 15, 1949 22nd General Assembly... 23rd General Assembly... June 4 Feb. 14, 1950 June 12. 1952 1 Feb. 3. 1953 24th General Assembly..... Sept. 15, 1953 9, 1953 Lune

<sup>1</sup> The Ministries from 1933-55 were: 22nd Ministry sworn in Nov. 15, 1933 under the leadership of Hon. T. D. Pattullo; 23rd Ministry sworn in Dec. 10, 1941 under the leadership of Hon. John Hart; 24th Ministry sworn in Dec. 29, 1947 under the leadership of Hon. B. I. Johnson; 25th Ministry sworn in Aug. 1, 1952 under the leadership of Hon. W. A. C. Bennett.

<sup>2</sup> Owing to the death of a candidate, polling day was delayed in the Electoral Districts of Vancouver Centre and Victoria City until Nov. 27, 1933.

<sup>3</sup> Life of Legislature not expired at May 31, 1955.

### Twenty-Fifth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 9, 1953: 28 Social Credit, 14 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 4 Liberals, 1 Progressive Conservative, 1 Labour.)

Note. - See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment			Date of Present Appointment		
Premier, President of the Council and Minister of Finance.  Provincial Secretary and Minister of Municipal Affairs.  Attorney General.  Minister of Lands and Forests and Minister of Mines.  Minister of Agriculture.  Minister of Highways.  Minister of Hailways, Minister of Trade and Industry and Minister of Fisheries.  Minister of Labour.  Minister of Labour.  Minister of Education.	HON. WESLEY DREWETT BLACK HON. ROBERT WILLIAM BONNER HON. ROBERT EDWARD SOMMERS. HON. WILLIAM KENNEME KIERNAM HON. PHILIP ARTHUR GAGLARDI HOD. WILLIAM RALPH TALBOT CHETWYND	Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug.	1, 1, 1, 1, 1,		Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug. Aug.	1, 1, 1, 15,	1955 1952 1952
Minister of Health and Welfare	Hon. ERIC CHARLES FITZGERALD MARTIN Hon. WILLIAM NEELAND CHANT	Aug. Mar.			Aug. Mar.		

## Subsection 11.—Yukon and Northwest Territories

Yukon Territory.—The Yukon was created a separate Territory in June 1898. Provision is made for a local Government composed of a Chief Executive, styled Commissioner, and an elective Legislative Council of five members with a three year tenure of office. The Commissioner administers the Government under instructions from the Governor in Council or the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. The Commissioner in Council has power to make ordinances dealing with the imposition of local taxes, sale of liquor, preservation of game, establishment of territorial offices, maintenance of prisons and municipal institutions, issue of licences, incorporation of companies, solemnization of marriage, property and civil rights, administration of justice and generally all matters of a local nature in the Territory. The seat of local government is at Whitehorse, Yukon Territory.

#### TERRITORIAL COUNCIL

(Five members elected 1952, for three years)

Dawson	A. F. BERRY	Whitehorse West	J. L. PHELPS F. D. LOCKE
Ca	rmacks	A. R. HAVES	